If your LRR includes publications (either books or entire journals), you can add them with or without images, depending on what looks good on the page. As a reminder, publications should not be placed under the heading of Publications.
If a database or publication is being referenced/used every week, you should add that publication/database to each week, rather than create a tab with those resources on it. This eliminates the need for the student to leave the current week tab to find the resource.
Here's a single publication as a link.
Here's a single publication added as a book asset with a cover image (Add/Reorder > Book from Catalog). Note that, if you are adding a journal, you will need to manually add a cover image to the asset as the system will only find cover images for books.
If the course would like to add databases to the page, the preferred heading is Research Database or Research Databases if the database(s) need to be separated from the topics within the course. Database or Databases is also acceptable. Library Resources should not be used. If appropriate or instructed, you might consider customizing the database description to the course's needs.
The name of this section is flexible depending on what makes sense for the LRR. It's also flexible where you place it on the page.
It's recommended that we provide some explanation of what search strings are and/or how they can be used. You will also want to include a link to the Decode Search Strings guide.
Search strings should be written in language that students can read, not necessarily the format of the search string from the database. The database search string, as well as any limiters, should be noted in the description of the asset so the search can be recreated in case the link breaks or expires.
You'll also want to include a blurb that refers students to our Decode Search Strings guide. If you opt to hyperlink to this guide in the Rich/Text box, you'll need to add another box in draft mode (aka, so it's hidden on the page) that contains a link to the Decode Search Strings guide from the asset list. Since LibGuides doesn't track hyperlinks, linking all hyperlinked guides and links in a hidden box will allow us to track that this guide is linked on this page. You can view this hidden page from the LibGuides admin site.
This week, I'm not adding a citation standards box because it isn't needed. We don't need citation standards when listing entire databases, books, websites, or search strings because nothing's been cited. However, if the citation standards box is listed on other weeks in the course, it might be a good idea to include it for consistency.
We add images to guides that do not have embedded videos. If the page has embedded videos, images are not needed.
Images need to have alt text and should be set to decorative.
The Ask Us box is typically added at the top of the right-hand column or underneath the image if one is being used. The box usually added to this space is the Ask Us! box from the Reusable Content page of the LibGuides SOP.
The name of this section is flexible depending on what makes sense for the LRR. It's also flexible where you place it on the page.
Guides should be added as links.
