University Library: Get Started in the Library: Home

What is the library?

If you're new to the University of Phoenix Library or looking for an overview of what we offer, you've come to the right place! The library is an online collection of content, tools, and services we've created and curated for you to use during your academic journey and into your career. It contains content you can't find easily online, like peer-reviewed articles, case studies, or evidence-based materials. It's also staffed by a team of professional librarians and staff who are here to help when you get stuck or have a question.

Let us know!

Where to Start

Because the library can be a bit vast when you first start, let's break it down into three areas.

Content consists of articles, e-books, videos, newspapers, and more that are provided to you through the library's databases. There are three ways to search for content depending on what you need:

Library Search
Use the search box on the library home page to search many of the library's databases simultaneously. The search is suitable for broad, introductory research where you need a wide range of results. Check out Develop a Search Strategy before you begin to help you maximize your research efforts.
Research Databases
Use the Research Databases page to dig deeper and find individual databases specific to your topic. This will give you more focused results that the Library Search might have missed. Use the drop-down menus to find the most relevant databases. Check out Choosing a Database before you begin your search.
Publications
Use the Publications search page to find specific journals or books. This is good for finding specific articles, books, or book chapters when you already have the citation. Review Find a Specific Article or Book for guidance on how to use this search.

Tools are resources created or managed by library staff that help you maximize your research skills.

How Do I
How Do I guides walk you through how to do things in the library, from in-depth research to finding specific content.
Toolkits
Toolkits offer tutorials and instructions for using specific library databases to get the most out of your research.
Subjects
Subject guides combine different types of content, including database recommendations, relevant How Do I guides, and key publications.
FAQs
Get an immediate answer to some of the most frequently asked questions. You can search by keyword or course.
Videos
Find videos on the library and how to use its resources and tools.
Lean Library
Use this browser extension for seamless access to library materials when working outside of the library website.

Get help from our team.

Ask Us
Have a question or need help? Ask us!
Request a Document
Submit a request to obtain articles, book chapters, or other documents that aren't in the library.
Doctoral Webinars
If you're a doctoral student, sign up for a webinar on various library research topics.
1:1 Doctoral Appointments
If you're a doctoral student, sign up for a one-on-one appointment with a librarian for specialized research guidance.